Young Playwrights' Festival 2021: Fanfiction Vignettes

May 2, 2021
May 2, 2021

Each spring, The Coterie premieres the Young Playwrights' Festival, an evening showcasing new works by some of Kansas City’s most talented teen playwrights. It is a full production of rich and varied theatrical writings created and developed by members of our Young Playwrights' Roundtable. The Coterie's Roundtable brings together students from around the Kansas City metro area who have emerged from our Reaching the Write Minds program as promising young writers. The Roundtable offers these young people a year-long writing and development process through which their ideas are curated into a collection of new works. Selected pieces will be performed in script-in-hand stagings utilizing students from The Coterie's Master class program and professional directors.


Young Playwrights’ Festival 2021: Fanfiction Vignettes is a ticketless, socially distanced event. It is also an all-masked audience event, with the 9 teen solo performers (all vaccinated) each performing a monologue with a face shield. Admission to attend in person is $5.00 and advance reservations are required due to reduced seating capacity. Unlike past Coterie productions, seating is not General Admission. Instead, socially distanced seating pods will be assigned so patrons are asked not to congregate in The Coterie lobby prior to the performance. The theater will open for seating 30 minutes prior to the performance. On the day of the performance, the Box Office will open at 6:00 p.m.

Young Playwrights' Festival 2021: Fanfiction Vignettes
Sunday, May 2, 2021 at 7:00 p.m.
At The Coterie Theatre, located on the level 1 of Crown Center
Tickets: $5.00 per person

Advance Reservations are Required  |  816.474.6552
Contact the Box Office to attend virtually

Selected Works for Young Playwrights’ Festival 2021: Fanfiction Vignettes

by Maria Heath

(Shawnee Mission South High) 
• Inspired by The Avengers films

Little Sister
by Megan Bogner

(Shawnee Mission South High) 
• Inspired by The Avengers films

Alfred XXIV
by Preya Nguyen

(Pembroke Hill) 
• Inspired by Mary Poppins

Adopted Daughter
by Cheyenne Crew

(F.L. Schlagle High)  
• Inspired by the Batman comics

by Tucker Rushing

(Belton High)
• Inspired by DC Comics

Lady M
by Claire Redick

(The Barstow School)  
• Inspired by Shakespeare’s Scottish play

Dear Cedric
by Kayleeann Milborn

(Sumner Academy) 
• Inspired by Harry Potter

Join Me
by Tyler Johnson

(Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy) 
• Inspired by Star Wars

Mistaken Identity
by El O’Brien

(Blue Valley North High) 
• Inspired by DC Comics





Created by Coterie artistic director Jeff Church when he was playwright in residence at the Kennedy Center, Reaching the Write Minds is a unique dramatic writing program which gives a voice to emerging teen playwrights. Nearly 400 students each year participate in this specialized, dramatic writing workshops scheduled by schools and taught by our professional facilitators. Following the in-school workshops, selected students continue on (free of charge) to the Young Playwrights' Roundtable. Each spring, The Coterie professionally stages works from the Roundtable members in its annual Young Playwrights' FestivalPlaywright facilitators for 2020-2021 were Nancy Marcy, Lacy Cunningham, and R.H. Wilhoit.

2020-2021 Young Playwrights’ Roundtable Members

Greta Albrecht (Shawnee Mission South High), Megan Bogner (Shawnee Mission South High), Ivory Carney (Allen Village School), Adela Courtright (Leavenworth High), Cheyenne Crew (F.L. Schlagle High), Sofia Dadkhah (Shawnee Mission South High), Camille Ferguson (Heritage Christian Academy), Sydney Fraga (Pembroke Hill), Declan Franey (Blue Valley Northwest High), Kimberly Girkin (Blue Springs South High), Katy Harris (Bonner Springs High), Maria Heath (Shawnee Mission South High), Tyler Johnson (Hyman Brand Hebrew Academy), Scarlett Jones (Blue Valley North High), Emma Lewis (Grandview High), Thomas Merritt-Meneses (F.L. Schlagle High), Kayleeann Milborn (Sumner Academy), Preya Nguyen (Pembroke Hill), El O’Brien (Blue Valley North High), Noah Orlich (Summit Trail Middle), Claire Redick (The Barstow School), Tucker Rushing (Belton High), Keeley Spencer (St. Teresa’s Academy), Jaelyn Stevens (Washington High), Kaleigh Thornton (Pembroke Hill), Willie Vela (J.C. Harmon High), Grace Weber (Pembroke Hill), Brandie Welkner (Shawnee Mission South High), Ava Wolesky (Liberty North High)